The13thmile’s Inspirational Quotes Week

We all need a push to run sometimes. With the stretch before a long holiday weekend looming before us, it is time to put our focus on high-gear and really zero in on training. For me, now that my half marathon is 83 days away, I need to start increasing speed and adding mileage. Until this point, my plan has just been to run as much as my body can take in an effort to increase endurance. Now that I’m at the three-month mark, it is time to “kick things up a notch” and push it, “Harder, Faster, Stronger”, as the song dictates. Enough cliché’s yet? Cue the Rocky music, because this training is just getting started!!! For the next week, The13thmile will be providing inspirational running and motivational quotes for all runners out there.

We are in the height of 5K race season; we are in the midst of marathon and half-marathon training sessions. We need focus! We need wisdom! We need… cliché’s! The platitudes are so for a reason – sometimes the overly-stated comment, the easily repeated statement is wisdom. Why mess with greatness? Here is someone else’s wisdom now, but this week, there will be much, much more to follow:

“If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.”
-Priscilla Welch

Quotes get me pumped. They inspire and motivate me. Do they work for you?

And, because I am training for the Philadelphia Distance Run, and, because it is only a few short months away, it is time for that classic homage to training, the overly played, the never duplicated, the 34-year-old – Rocky Training Montage. Just try to watch this and not feel motivated to sprint a few miles! It makes me want to dance on the steps of The Philadelphia Art Museum NOW, not wait until September!

To further motivate you, during the Philadelphia Distance Run, there is a Run as Rocky costume contest. Are you entering?
Get pumped! Get motivated! Get Inspired! Get…running!!!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Like This!

[tweetmeme https://the13thmile.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/the13thmiles-i…al-quotes-week//%5D

Add to Google Buzz

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in fitness, Half Marathon, Inspirational, marathon training, Rocky Training, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The13thmile’s Inspirational Quotes Week

  1. tasha says:

    i came across your blog and wanted to leave a note. i instantly related to this post and look forward to reading about your progress. i ran (and blogged about) my first half marathon back in march and am fixing to start training for my first full. i love quotes too, by the way. good luck and happy running!!!
    http://www.runtasharun.wordpress.com

  2. Tabitha says:

    I love quotes! Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to all the ones you tweet 😉

  3. Dave says:

    Yes, quite cheesy, but appropriate. You are going to love the half. It’s worth the effort.

    • the13thmile says:

      Hi Dave – Thanks for the feedback on the cheesiness. Also – Good to know you loved the half! Training has been fun so far. Everyone says once you do a half, you want to do a full, but I think I’m going to keep my “specialty” at the half.

Leave a Reply

