One Foot Here, One Foot There’s Labor Day Tweetup Recap

Labor Day by S C Hargis Photography

I live for holidays. I celebrate fake holidays like International Talk Like a Pirate Day. I over-celebrate normal-ish holidays like Cinco De Mayo. I make St. Patrick’s Day – and even Half Saint Patrick’s Day – an excuse to have a few cocktails.

With all this holiday love, you’d think that all of the major holidays would be automatically grandfathered in. But there are three major holidays that I despise: New Year’s Eve, Valentine’s Day and Labor Day.

Labor Day, to me, has always represented the end of summer, warm weather and fun. According to the U.S. Department of Labor it is “a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.”

It’s a day to celebrate working – how is that a fun holiday? Where are the costumes? The decorations? What a buzzkill. It is a day to end the fun of summer by reminding us how hard Americans have worked, and continue to work. I get it. It’s touching and not every holiday is a happy one, as we all know. However, it is hard getting excited about a beautiful, warm Monday off from school/work when you know hard work and long hours are ahead, and that you are supposed to be celebrating this!

For most of my life, this “holiday” was met with a “Bye, Ocean. See you in June.” wave and whisper. Trying to break the habit of sad Labor Days this year, I organized a running Tweetup which was, to me, amazing. I had a great time, met some really nice people and said good-bye to the summer away from the beach.

September slammed through with triple the workload, as it always does when summer fades away and I have not had time until tonight to catch up and read my running blogs. During this process, I saw that a friend in her blog One Foot Here, One Foot There wrote a recap of the Labor Day Tweetup.I would like to share it here, below:

So I Survived

…my first group run, and I made a few friends.

Went a lot better than I expected, and I managed to push myself a bit harder (though not to the point of discomfort). Normally I would have run an 11 min/mile pace at the distance we did, but I found myself chugging along at 10 with some of our group. I found myself able to talk to my fellow runners without running out of breath, although having to be conscious of keeping up also forced me to be more disciplined with my breathing. There was about half the group that ran an 8 min/mile pace but the rest of us did 10 or so. I found myself directing most of the group as most of the ones running with me did not live in Center City; the ones that actually did were in the 8 min/mile group. My main concern was diverting them from the dangerous-to-cross Donut intersection, which I managed to do, although I found out later the exit into the Donut was shut down due to construction. Which I had no worries with, we wanted to get everyone back in Rittenhouse that had started out.

To boot, after the run, we all hung out a little in the square and chatted, and I’d gotten to know people a little better. Overall, I had a blast this morning, the miles went that much quicker, and I enjoyed getting to connect with some of the running community in the area and I’m hoping we do another Twitter roundup again.

Big shoutout to The13thMile for getting this going.

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Running Groups, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

