Today is The Big Day – My First Half!!

The race I’ve trained all summer for has finally arrived.

On your mark, get set, GO!

I’m excited and can’t wait to get started! When I began training, I couldn’t even run for thirty consecutive minutes and I’d never gone more than five miles in my entire life. The training process has taught me a ton about discipline, motivation and how our life choices affect other choices. By focusing on running more, I naturally started to eat healthier and cut back on some bad habits. My body started to crave the healthier foods and in some cases, I was able to turn sugar cravings into reminders of how bad sugar makes my body feel.

Most importantly, I stuck to the ultimate goal of maintaining a training schedule and didn’t let myself slack off.

As someone said to me this weekend, “If you reach the start line, you’ve already won.”

Again, I will cheesily compare running a race to life. When we achieve life goals or cross experiences off our bucket lists, it is rarely the satisfaction of completing the task that brings us the most joy. It is usually the journey that carries us to that point. The struggles, the learning experiences and the challenges that we face on the road to a goal are what makes the goal so rewarding.

Even if I flop tomorrow and run a three-hour race, I already feel like this experience has been exciting, fun and educational. I’ve ran through rain, heat, and cold. I’ve tried it barefoot, with old sneakers with special sneakers. I’ve ran through the mountains, the beach, the big city, through small towns. I’ve met other runners either virtually or in person and have learned so many new things about nutrition, weight-loss and healthy living. All of these things combine to make this event a special day for me – as tomorrow is not the end, it is the start of many more halves to come!

My goal is to run the race in two hours, fifteen minutes, which would leave me at a ten-minute mile pace. This is extremely ambitious, but if I keep with my pace, I will accomplish it. When I first signed up, I put myself down in the three hours + category. It was a rewarding feeling today moving myself from the last corral to the middle-corral.

During my training, I only finished one run at this rate. I am hoping if I can keep it slow and steady for most of the course, at the end I might be able to push through with some extra speed. All questions will be answered tomorrow. For now, it is time for me to rest up for tomorrow’s early start!

I will blog/Tweet as much as possible from the event and about the event. And although I will have my iPhone with me during the run, I will try to save these tasks for post-race!

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon, Rock 'n Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

