Ten Ways I Entertain Myself During Long Runs

 

I know; I’m not intense enough. I’m not a warrior who can run for three hours with no music and no distractions. Many of you will tell me to leave the gadgets at home. But I’m addicted to my iPhone. It does everything! And let’s face it, hours of running per week gets…boring! Maybe I’m not doing it right, but after ninety minutes, with ninety minutes to go – if I don’t have something to distract me, there is no way I’m ever going running again. Here are some of the ways I keep myself preoccupied while still banking the miles.

  1. Listen to audiobooks – Not enough time to read? Perfect multi-tasking solution!
  2. Think about absolutely nothing
  3. Think about absolutely everything
  4. Text friends
  5. Rock out to my favorite songs
  6. Sing along, loudly, to said favorite songs (Along a deserted path.)
  7. Type out the random, adrenaline-rushed thoughts and brilliant ideas that hit
  8. Breathe so deep I can feel it through my back as my lungs fill with crisp, fresh air
  9. Take pictures of striking surroundings
  10. Tune out all of the above, clear my mind and listen to the leaves rustle

What do you do to keep yourself entertained for hours along your running trail?

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Entertaining Run, Run, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten Ways I Entertain Myself During Long Runs

  1. Helene says:

    Hello 13th mile!!

    I run every other day because I think it is better for your body to rest a day between runs. Is that right? Or should I run every day??

    Helene

    • the13thmile says:

      You can run every day if your body is up for it… See what feels natural and what you can get used to. You should always make sure you’re healthy enough to run an are physically able to do it- if you aren’t in pain, back-to-back running days seem fine…I do it, and I know other runners do it too!

Leave a Reply

