Framed by Fall: The New York City Skyline

The beauty of running outdoors year-round, is watching the seasons morph your familiar paths into seasonally altered versions of themselves. The sun is heavier in the fall sky and illuminates certain landmarks while dripping others in shade.

I am only interested in running as long as it is interesting to me. Along my runs, I try to capture any beauty I see, feel present in the moment and fully immerse myself in my surroundings. By observing the view, I forget that I am running sometimes. Although this may sound counteractive to the training plan, forgetting that I am running helps me to run longer distances without losing interest. Many runners struggle against boredom during running. Losing myself in the surroundings is is one of my ways to prevent that boredom while attempting to relax and savoring a stress-relieving experience.

My Halloween run captured the beauty of an early afternoon sinking sun over the Hudson River. I thought the sterile skyline juxtaposed against warm fall colors was a striking visual and had to share!

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Fall Run and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

