What Are Your New Years Resolutions? The Obligatory New Year’s Eve Resolution Post

As 2011 approaches, it is time for a fresh start. A do-over. Another chance. Call it what you will, for some reason at this time of year, many of us turn introspective and try to plan new ways of improving ourselves over the next year.

Weight-loss commercials will inundate the media over the next month as holiday sale specials did over the past month. Everyone is trying to sell a version of how to lose weight this year. As fellow runners, I’m sure something as simple as ‘lose-weight’ is not on your New Year’s Resolution list.

I’d imagine some of you would have the resolution to finish your first marathon, to beat your last half-marathon time or something similar.

To me, new years resolutions are not something to take lightly. Most years, I make a commitment to improve a certain area, and stick with it through December of that year, until it becomes a daily or weekly habit. Most years, I try to build off the previous year’s goal. Last year, I did achieve my new years resolution, which was to “Be more mature”. I looked at myself one day and realized I was acting like a silly kid, not like the responsible
adult that I was under my veil of ridiculousness. Throughout the past year, with some slip ups along the way, I have strived to focus more on family, writing, serious obligations and in general – being more adult-like. I’ve shifted the importance of many of my goals and the activities I was previously spending time on have changed.

Most importantly, somehow, half-way through the year, I decided to start running competitively – this has helped me grow, stick to my goals and mature even more the second half of 2010.

For 2011, I am challenging myself with two resolutions. One will be easy to
achieve. The other will be next to impossible.

2011 Goal 1: To volunteer at least twelve times this year. (I’ve already signed up
for my January event.)

2011 Goal 2: To sleep seven to eight hours per night. No more, no less. As a night owl, and someone who feels there isn’t enough time in the day, trying to sleep more than my usual four to six hours during the week, and less than my usual twelve hours on weekends will be a challenge. But, by getting a more consistent amount of rest, I will be helping my body’s
sleeping hormones to burn more fat (something I read about this summer in Jillian Michaels’ book: Master Your Metabolism). I will also hopefully allow myself to begin waking up early enough to enjoy a morning routine, prepare for the day and not fear sleeping through half of my obligations.

I wish the best of luck to you and your families over the next year. What are your goals? Your resolutions? Your ways of improvement?

I’d love to hear them.

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

