How You Can Use Food Network to Spice Up the Treadmill Workout…And Dinner!

Stuffed Chicken Divan courtesy of Food Network

The treadmill is one word: booooooorrrrrrrrring. Be honest. How much do you actually like the treadmill? I despise it, yet due to my inability to resist food, must spend hours using it. Might as well combine something I love (food) with the dreaded treadmill hamster wheel. If you’re looking for a time when you can fully focus your attention on learning new cooking techniques, when better than during a treadmill run? This is especially helpful for those adjusting to a new lifestyle of eating, and for those looking to add new flavors, kitchen tricks and spices.

It might sounds like a contradiction to watch chefs design the very delectable treats that cause me to need the extra hour on the treadmill, but by watching Food Network at the gym, I am able to completely focus on the show. My attention isn’t pulled in several directions like it is at home.

As a captivated runner, I watch the chefs prepare their recipes from scratch – from Grilled Salmonto broiling kale (best recipe I’ve made in a long time!) or making an amazing meatloaf. The Food Network chefs actively teach viewers. I’m tuning in to spice up my low-fat cooking without dumping pounds of butter into each dish. (Paula Deen’s food looks amazing, but it is for cheat days!)

As we know, cooking, weight-loss and exercise all blend together into one intertwined plan. We know that what we eat affects our energy, our potential to binge-eat, and our ability to lose weight in a healthy way. For me, watching the pros season food is teaching me how to cook low-fat without cooking blandly.

Long over are the days of browned omelets! Thanks Chef Robert!

Nutmeg on greens? My new flavor secret. Thanks Rachel Ray!

Chopping vegetables the same size allows them to cook evenly? Thanks Chef Anne!

These are three tips that can help me – and you – shed pounds. When our home cooked food tastes good, we are less likely to eat something quick (aka fattening) on the go, and more likely to prepare all of our own meals, embracing leftovers. (Our bank account smiles at this as well) When we learn how to cook flavor-fully, we can fill up on veggies yet still appreciate bold tastes, textures and sauces.

My journey of learning how to cook delicious yet healthy food is an ongoing learning process but by doubling my workout time as cooking lesson hour, I am able to focus and really absorb what the chefs on TV are demonstrating.

Focusing on healthy food preparation while shedding calories is part of the route to lasting weight loss. In addition to my TV-while-running habit, I DVR cooking shows, which I play while cooking, research the recipes on the shows to fully understand the ingredients, and read countless cooking magazines. Learn how to cook in an interesting yet healthy way today, and spend less time on the treadmill tomorrow!

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Diet, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

