3 Ways to Workout at Home During Winter Snowstorms

A few weeks ago, I wrote on the ease of continuing to run outside, despite extreme weather conditions – like post-snowstorm. However, I do believe that at a certain point – like when the roads are coated with semi-invisible ice, or your city is in the midst of a blizzard – taking the workout indoors is one’s only option.

The problem with indoor workouts is that there are too many distractions. It’s easy to fall victim to the household chores or that favorite TV show. But these activities can simply be woven into the overall fitness routine while multitasking!

1.    Weighted TV watching – As many trainers and fitness experts agree, lifting weights several times a week is one of the best ways to torch calories for 24 hours post-workout while boosting metabolism. For those of us with no time left over for TV, lunges, crunches and tricep-dips might just be the only time to catch up on the most recent episode of our favorite TV shows. Might as well get the most out of the time!

2.    Cardio Chores – So you have a dishwasher – but it doesn’t plug into the wall; it has two arms and it’s you. Should standing in front of your sink scrubbing pots for an hour become wasted time? Or can you use it to your advantage? Use this time to perform side leg lifts, squats, back-kicks or anything else your lower half can multi-task while your dishes become sparkling clean.

3.    Never sit still – I have turned this quality into a near-nervous habit, but I simply cannot relax and sit still. I’m not suggesting that everyone follow this advice, as this is probably more of an annoyance, than a positive trait. However, the benefit to never sitting still is constant calorie burning. If you’re at home for hours at a time, why not squeeze in a minute of jumping jacks or some skaters?  Short bursts of cardio blast more fat because of the interval training.

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Cross-Train and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 Ways to Workout at Home During Winter Snowstorms

  1. Dave says:

    I just got round to reading this one. After a week of ice and now snow, I’m about to go nuts not getting to run. I’ve been on the bike trainer, but I’m not talented enough to exercise and wash dishes at the same time. I think I’m going after a snow run this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

