Crossing the Finish Line: The End of the Half-Marathon Blogging Road


Photo from: fitbit.com

The13thmile blog has been an amazing growth journey for the past year for me. Through the support this blog has given me, and through working at the monstrous challenge of distance running by breaking off small chunks, I can now say that I have ran four half marathons, finishing with the exact time of two hours and seventeen minutes. (For the first three. On the fourth, the race was cut short due to flooding so the timing is off.)

In September, I will run the Philly half for the second year in a row. Last year, I ran it alone. This year a crew of college friends, my boyfriend and some of his friends will run the race with me. To belong to a group of people running this race together, supporting one another along the way has been awesome. It’s also rewarding to see how far I’ve come. I’m still not a fast runner. But, at least I have accomplished my initial goal of “just finishing.” I finished multiple times. And now running has become a hobby of mine. I love running whereas in the past I hated it and didn’t have a purpose for it.

I will continue to run, will continue to train for half marathons. Yet, this blog has now come to a conclusion. The original purpose of the blog was to learn about running while writing; to research nutrition, exercise and weight loss while actively participating in the experience of running; to meet other runners and understand how to do something that, even just a year ago, seemed impossible and scary. Along the thirteen-mile road, I’ve met some awesome people through Twitter, Tweet Ups and races. I’ve also had the opportunity to speak with some personal trainers, nutritionists and other professionals as I wrote posts for The13thmile. I’ve learned and shared some wonderful tips.

But as I said from the beginning, I am an amateur runner myself. As much as I enjoy running, it isn’t my only passion, and I’ve decided to focus on different areas. I do love writing about fitness, nutrition and wellness. I do enjoy speaking with experts in these fields. Therefore this blog isn’t over forever, but it is over for my initial year of running. I’m sure after I run my second half next month, I will write a post on it.

Thank you for everyone who has followed me over the past year, who has discussed running with me and who has commented in this blog. Interacting with you all and learning from your experiences is what has made this so fun. Every time I had a running question, all I needed to do was ask the online community and I received responses that were incredibly helpful.

The running community is a supportive, kind group. I’ve loved every second of being a part of it. Thank you for everything!! From time to time, I’ll continue to write some posts on running, nutrition and fitness, but I will start to formulate them more like articles instead of my own experiences against the road. If you would like to be a part of this project, be interviewed or share your fitness/nutrition tips, please let me know.

About the13thmile

I am proud to now say I am a half-marathon runner! Three half-marathons qualify for that status, I think. I blog about about running, nutrition and sometimes some other stuff. I share my research, tips and experiences with you, and am inspired by the supportive running community! I enjoy connecting with other runners, and hearing about other people's running experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have ran marathons or half marathons in the past!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

